Beginnings

Today in class, my classmate and discussion group-mate invited me to join her project group. I am grateful she recruited me as I was coming up empty-handed where project ideas were concerned and thoroughly overwhelmed with producing a valuable piece of digital humanities on my lonesome.

My anticipated role in this project is studying the evolution of visual representations of Emma herself over time and across various media. I also volunteered to build the website using Adobe Muse. This will be my first experience with Muse, which I have wanted to learn since discovering it a few months ago.


Today’s project work consisted of discussing the scope of the project, individual roles, file-keeping protocol, and possible Web site tools/builders.

I fiddled with Muse a bit this evening, and ordered a copy of Emma from smile.amazon.com. (If you shop on Amazon, shop through Smile and donate to charity.)

This is my first experience with Austen’s literature.

So begins my experience making an Digital Humanities thing.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

Leave a Reply

